SELC Announces First Hall of Fame InducteesMarch 21st, 2012

SELC Announces First Hall of Fame Inductees

Atlanta, GA: The SouthEastern Lacrosse Conference (SELC) has selected 6 players and one contributor to be inducted into their first Hall of Fame class. The inaugural class will be honored during the conference’s 25th Anniversary tournament at half time of the Division 1 Championship game on Sunday, April 29th at Northview High School in Johns Creek, GA.

Players selected to the Hall of Fame were all members of the conference 25th Anniversary Team that was announced earlier this week. In order to be eligible for selection a player had to be out of school for at least 7 years.

The players that will be inducted are Matt Garibaldi (Auburn), Jason Lewin (Tennessee), Will Oakley (Georgia Tech), Danny Hogan (Florida), Matt Bazar (Auburn) and Ernie Lemmert (Virginia Tech). Eric Rudolph will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame as a Contributor.

Garibaldi was a midfielder and earned All Conference and All American honors 3 years, conference Offensive Player of the Year award twice and helped Auburn win back to back SELC Championships. Lewin, an attackman, received All Conference, All Tournament and All American awards several times each and was tournament Offensive MVP while leading Tennessee to two conference championships. Midfielder Will Oakley was Offensive Player of the Year, All Conference 4 years, both All Tournament and All American twice and captained Tech for two years. Hogan played attack, captained the Gators two years, received All Conference recognition 3 years, All American twice and helped lead Florida to a Division 2 and Division 1 championship. Defenseman Matt Bazar was selected as All Conference 4 times and All American 3 times, earned Defensive Player of the Year and helped Auburn win the SELC championship. Ernie Lemmert was an All Conference selection for 3 years and earned the SELC Defensive Player of the Year Award twice. Eric Rudolph helped found, organize and has been an Executive Committee member of the conference for all 25 years.