Inaugural SELC Hall of Fame Class InductedMay 2nd, 2012

Inaugural SELC Hall of Fame Class Inducted

The SouthEastern Lacrosse Conference is proud to honor our first class of Hall of Fame inductees. The inductees were selected by a panel of current and past coaches, players and administrators of the conference. The first class of honorees was made up of six former players and one contributor. The induction ceremony took place at halftime of the Division 1 championship game between Virginia Tech and Florida State at Northview High School stadium in Johns Creek, GA on April 29, 2012.

A DVD presentation was played on the stadium jumbotron displaying several pictures of each inductee as their credentials for induction were read. Below is the audio script that was part of the DVD.

Auburn University defenseman Matt Bazar played his high school lacrosse at Christian Brothers High School in Memphis and was a Tennessee All State selection his junior and senior seasons.

Matt started all four years for the Auburn Tigers, 1999 to 2002, and was selected All Conference all 4 years. He was also a 4 time All American selection- honorable mention as a freshman, 3rd team his sophomore and junior seasons and first team as a senior. Matt received the Pieper Award as the SELC Defensive Player of the Year in 2002. Auburn won back to back SELC Championships in 2001 & 2002 during his junior and senior seasons.

Matt resides in Atlanta and works for Turner Broadcasting as a business consultant. He can be seen still playing club ball on Sundays.

Matt Garibaldi was a team mate of Matt Bazar’s at Christian Brothers but a year younger. He captained the 1999 CBHS team.

Matt played at Auburn from 2000 to 2003 although he missed the majority of the ’01 season with an injury. He was selected All Conference 3 years- twice as a first team midfielder. Matt won the Horn Award as the SELC Offensive Player of the Year in 2002 and 2003. He also received first team All American honors in ’02 and ’03. In 2002 he was selected to the USLIA All Tournament team. Auburn captured the SELC championship Matt’s junior year.

Matt played for the USLIA team USA West that traveled to China and Japan in 2002. In 2003 he again played for USA West and traveled to Europe. Matt was selected as the Most Valuable Player of the Prague Cup.

Matt is married, lives in Memphis, is a CPA and works for Commerce Advisors as an investment advisor.

Danny Hogan was twice selected as a high school All American while playing for Lake Brantley High School in Allamonte Springs, Florida.

Danny was team president of the University of Florida team that was admitted to the SELC Division 2 in 2001. He was All Conference all 3 years Florida competed in the SELC and was selected first team in 2002 and 2003. Danny helped lead the Gators to the D2 championship in their first year of SELC competition. A 2002 and 2003 All American selection Danny and the Gators won their first SELC Division 1 championship his senior year- 2003. During his 3 years Florida had 24 wins and only 3 losses to SELC opponents.

Danny has remained active in lacrosse having been head coach at Bishop Moore Catholic High School from 2004 to 2011 amassing a 99 and 48 record. He helped found the Lacrosse Club of Orlando which promotes youth lacrosse and he is captain of the Hogtowne men’s club team. Danny is a project manager in the construction industry.

Ernie Lemmert didn’t start playing lacrosse until his sophomore year in high school.

Ernie played defense for Virginia Tech Coach Nachlas from 1999 to 2002. He was first team All Conference for 3 years. He earned USLIA All American honors in 2001 and 2002. Ernie was honored twice as the Pieper Award recipient as the SELC Defensive Player of the Year in 2000 and 2001.

Since graduating from Virginia Tech he has worked for the Navy as a computer engineer in the field of anti-submarine warfare. Ernie will be moving next week to Washington State to begin work for the Naval Undersea Warfare Center.

Jason Lewin played his high school lacrosse at Memphis University School from 1996-1998. Jason was first team All State 3 times. His senior year MUS won the state title and he earned All American recognition.

His arrival at Tennessee in 1999 marked the beginning of strong success for the Volunteer program. An attackman, Jason was All Conference and All American 3 years. Tennessee won back to back SELC championships his freshman and sophomore seasons and he was the recipient of the Horn Award as the conferences Offensive Player of the Year his freshman and junior seasons. He still holds the Tennessee single season points record with 94 points, a record he set in 1999.

Still active in lacrosse, Jason plays for Team Music City as well as The Flying Elvis and coaches the MUS lower school team. He is currently director of marketing for the world’s largest 3D optics company.

Will Oakley attended St. Andrew’s School and was a Delaware Independent School Conference selection in 1999 and 2000 as a midfielder.

Will was a 4 time SELC All Conference midfielder at Georgia Tech. He earned All Tournament team honors in 2003 and 2004 and helped lead GA TECH to their 2nd SELC Championship in 2004. The 2004 Jackets entered the tournament as the #5 seed and became the lowest seed at that time to win the conference championship. He received All American recognition in 2003 as a 3rd team midfielder and was a 2nd team All American in ’04. Will won the Horn Award in 2004 as the SELC Offensive Player of the Year. He was captain of GA TECH his junior and senior seasons.

Since graduating Will has been running a software development company and helped start LaxxTV- an online lacrosse broadcasting company. He has coached the woman’s club teams at GA TECH and UC Irvine along with the NCAA Dlll woman’s team at the University of Dallas. Will currently lives in Dallas with his wife Jenn.

Eric Rudolph has been involved in lacrosse for over 60 years. He played high school lacrosse at The Friends School in Baltimore and played collegiately at Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pennsylvania.

Eric helped found the Florida Lacrosse League and served the league in several capacities. In 2001 he received the Bernie Ulman Award for his contributions to intercollegiate lacrosse officiating and to the game of lacrosse.

In 1988 Eric helped organize and incorporate the SouthEastern Lacrosse Conference. The conference began with just 6 teams. Today the SELC has 39 teams in 8 states and is the largest collegiate club conference in the nation. Eric has served on the executive committee of the SELC for all 25 years of the conferences history. He is a member of the South Florida and Georgia Lacrosse Hall of Fames.

Eric is currently the college Assigning Authority for District 5 and chair of the US Lacrosse Rules Sub-Committee.