RMLC 2014 Championships to be Held in Grand JunctionApril 21st, 2014

RMLC 2014 Championships to be Held in Grand Junction

For the fourth year, the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference Collegiate Championships (RMLC), on May 2 – 3, will be played at Walker Field at Colorado Mesa University. Eight in total, the top 4 Division I and top 4 Division II college club teams will play six games, with two titles on the line.


In Division 1; the University of Colorado (4-0 in RMLC play) will be the #1 seed, with Brigham Young University (3-1) standing at #2.

For the first time in RMLC history, this year’s Division 1 postseason-bracket will include two play-in games. The #3 seed will be determined, as Utah State University travels to Colorado State University, Saturday, April 26 at 3:00pm. The #4 seed will be decided the same day as well, with the University of Utah going to Westminster College, April 26 at 1:00pm, in a final attempt to earn their way into the RMLC Championship Tournament.

In Division 2; the University of Northern Colorado (6-0 in RMLC play, with one upcoming game) will take the #1 seed, while Montana State University (6-1, losing 10-9 to UNC on April 19) accepts their #2 seed. Fort Lewis College and the Colorado School of Mines will round-out #3 and #4 respectively.

The Championship winners, of each division, will go to the National Championships in Irvine, CA (with the Final Four moving to Orange, CA.) There they will face a 16-team tournament bracket, representing the MCLA’s very best from each of the 10 conferences. Last year at Walker Field, Colorado State beat Colorado for the RMLC Division I conference championship and Westminster defeated Fort Lewis in Division II. Colorado State would go on, to defeat in-state rival, Colorado for the D1 National Championship. While Westminster made it their D2 championship game, before falling to the University of St. Thomas by two goals.

Division II semi-finals begin on Friday, May 2, with games at 10:00am and 1:00pm. The Division II championship final will be played Saturday, May 3, at 4:00pm.

Division I semifinals will be played Friday, May 2, at 4:00pm and 7:00pm. Division I teams take the field for the finals on Saturday, May 3, at 7:00. Tickets will be on sale at the gate for $5 for adults, and $1 for students at all levels, per day.

Friday 5/2 – D2 Semi-final : 10:00am #2 Montana State Univ. vs. #3 Fort Lewis College
Friday 5/2 -D2 Semi-final : 1:00pm #1 Univ. of Northern Colorado vs. #4 Colorado School of Mines
Friday 5/2 – D1 Semi-final : 4:00pm #2 Brigham Young Univ. vs. TBD (Colorado State Univ./Utah State Univ.)
Friday 5/2 – D1 Semi-final : 7:00pm #1 Univ. of Colorado vs. TBD (Westminster College/Univ. of Utah)
Saturday 5/3 – D2 Championship: 4:00pm
Saturday 5/4 – D1 Championship: 7:00pm